Mission: Jonah


Introductions
June 30, 2011, 3:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Family and Friends:

For those of you who don’t know him, this is my Jonah. At 5 years old, he stands at 43 inches, a whopping 40 pounds, with blazing blonde hair, giant blue eyes, and a mischievous giggle.  He is my heart, my soul, and my every breath, all wrapped up in another being that I can’t control. If only I controlled it, he wouldn’t be autistic.

Jonah’s autism diagnosis came when he was 3 years old. He was actually diagnosed with PDD-NOS (Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified), but it is treated like autism. The diagnosis process, and early intervention began when he was 2 and a half, almost exactly 3 years ago. He is considered to be high-functioning, or mild to moderate. He is very smart, and I am proud to report that he is already learning to read, write, and use basic arithmetic. 

Jonah also has a very rare genetic disorder known as 18Q Deletion Syndrome. This essentially means that there is a deletion on the long leg of his 18th chromosome, which was diagnosed shortly after his birth. The symptoms and side effects associated with 18Q Deletion Syndrome can vary, depending on the size of the deletion. In Jonah’s case, the deletion is so miniscule, it does not appear to have impacted him physically. However, autism is often linked to children with 18Q Syndrome, which brings us to where we are now.

As a parent, I never could have imagined this. This is the stuff you don’t sign up for. This is the stuff that is typed in fine Sanskrit at the bottom of the celestial contract you sign with the universe upon delivering a child. Had I known what I suspect now, I would have done so many things differently. I would do anything to reverse my son’s autism. Please do not think that I do not accept him for who he is now, but if I can make anything just the tiniest bit better for him, I will do it. I can not go back and change the mistakes that I believe caused his autism, but I am moving forward to reverse the damage that has been done to him.

While the medical industry reports that they have found no evidence linking vaccinations to autism, they have yet to show us proof that vaccinations irrefutably do not cause autism. The truth is, no one knows for sure, therefore, we can not rule out any options. I was one of those people who adamantly denied a link between vaccinations and autism, until earlier this year when I read “Autism, Beyond Despair: Homeopathy Has the Answers” by Dr. Tinus Smits, MD and Tim Owens.  Dr. Smits developed a homeopathic therapy that he has administered to treat and reverse autism. CEASE Therapy (Complete Elimination of Autism Spectrum Expression) clears the body of toxins, primarily from vaccinations that may be causative factors to a child’s autism. Since autism is such a complex disorder, it is my understanding that what might work for one child, may not work for another to the same extent. Regardless, in the cases of autism that Dr. Smits worked with, he was able to achieve significant improvement in the child’s condition.

It should be noted, that I believe there are several causative factors in addition to vaccinations that could be linked to autism, and if we continue abusing our bodies by exposing ourselves and our children to toxins that are not natural to the human body, we will soon be at pandemic levels of diagnosis of developmental disability. These are things that are building generationally, which is why the severity of developmental disorders is increasing.  In the 80’s and 90’s, all the kids had ADD. Now in the new millennium, all the kids have autism. What’s next? When will we as a society demand answers? Will it be when the statistics are reversed and 1 in 90 children are being diagnosed “normal”? Unfortunately, for many people, it will be when their children are diagnosed, just as mine was.

I am not a scientist, or a doctor, but I have lived with this condition for the last three years, and I can tell you what I have witnessed first hand with Jonah. I am also capable of simple math, and if you add the simple facts together, there is no way to deny that something unnatural is occurring in our children. The first case of autism was reported in 1943, and it has grown unlike anything else we have ever seen over the last 68 years. In fact, I would like to challenge the medical industry to show us another condition that has had a stronger global impact. This isn’t just about autism, but rather an increasingly unnatural occurrence of developmental disorders that our children are at risk of.

And, here I stand, angry and on a mission to tackle what I believe has caused Jonah’s autism. It is the most painful thing a parent could imagine: to watch your child disappear right in front of you. To watch his words disappear, to watch his expression disappear, to watch his eyes disappear.  I am blessed that Jonah’s condition is not as severe as others. I am grateful that he is a very loving, optimistic, affectionate and happy child. While we have our challenging moments, Jonah is a very good boy. We have many positive things on our side as we embark on this mission.

I am in preparation mode to begin CEASE Therapy for Jonah this summer. It is my mission to share with any one who wants to listen (or read) as we go through this journey, in hopes that it may help other children trapped in this condition. I can only hope and pray for support from everyone I know, and everyone you know. Please share this blog, pass it along. We need all the support we can get.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As someone who has researched a little on the effects of diet & environment in regards to Autism I want to know more about vaccinations. I heard that some vaccinations will be okay, but it is important how we administer them. Multiple vaccines administered with one needle I think is trouble. I am worried they are all trouble. As a pregnant woman I am scared about having my first child. I don't want to be pressures by the doctors to stick my baby with a gazillion needles before we leave the hospital. This is important to me and I must do my research before my little bundle of joy arrives. I was just wondering what anyone else's take may be on the topic….

Comment by SherriLee

You are awesome!

Comment by Michael Walden

Thanks Sherri and Mike for your support!

Comment by Maria




Leave a Reply

